Are you a vegan or vegetarian visiting Morocco soon and not knowing what to think of Morocco as a Destination for Vegetarians and Vegans? Worried that the country won’t fit your dietary plans? You’re in luck! In this article, we’ll break down to you how Morocco is one of the best vegetarian and vegan-friendly destinations.
The Traditional Vegan-friendly Moroccan Cuisine
Morocco as a Destination for Vegetarians and Vegans has many Moroccan dishes that are vegetarian and vegan by default. Our meals consist of appetizers as well as the main course. In many restaurants, the beginning might be a variety of fresh or cooked salads.
The most frequent ones include Zaalouk, which is a delectable cuisine consisting of eggplant, tomato, and garlic. Taktouka, which is a bell pepper salad with tomatoes and spices. Another popular salad is the famous cucumber and tomato salad with a sour dressing called “vinaigrette”. A variety of other salad options include cooked vegetables with rice. None of them has either butter or non-vegetarian oil, making them safe for vegans.
All of that can be eaten accompanied by the famous Moroccan bread. The Moroccan round bread that you can get everywhere is also an excellent alternative for satisfying your carbohydrate demands, especially when paired with olives, olive oil, Argan oil, Amlou, fruits jam and honey, and, of course, a hot mint tea!
That is the ideal breakfast for any Moroccan. It does not, once again, include any non-vegetarian or non-vegan products.
For lunch or dinner, you can have the Moroccan Tajine. It is a delectable variation of one of Morocco’s most classic meals. This tajine is 100% meat-free and 100% Moroccan, made with a range of vegetables such as carrots, zucchini, eggplant, potatoes, and more. Delicious spices enhance the flavor.
Where to shop for vegetarian and vegan products in Morocco
If you’re on the go and need some quick snacks, you can head to any local supermarket to find (for very affordable prices) vegan friendly products, such as:
- Oat milk or nut milk,
- Nut mix (cashews, almonds, pistachios…),
- Vegan cheese,
- Plant based yogurt.
For protein substitutes, you’ll find a variety of plant-based meats at the local supermarkets to curb your chicken nugget or cheeseburger cravings. Some local stores also sell tofu to make tourists consider Morocco as a Destination for Vegetarians and Vegans.
In some stores, you may discover a range of dried fruits such as the famous Moroccan dates, figs, apricots, plums or prunes, raisins, and even dried bananas, pineapples, and kiwis. Morocco has enough sun all year round. So, all the fruits may be dried to be stored. Moroccans did not have refrigerators back in the day. Hence, they had to come up with their own traditional techniques to preserve food.
Fruits and Vegetables
Depending on the season, Morocco cultivates a variety of fruits locally such as apples, bananas, peaches, various berries, apricots, figs, watermelons, melons, avocados, grapes, oranges, grapefruits, pears, pomegranates…
Morocco also imports a lot of exotic fruits from Africa, such as kiwi, pineapple, mango, and papaya… Make sure to stop by the market or ‘souk’ during your trip to Morocco and make your tour guide invite you to a juice bar, the heaven of fruits. You can find this kind of stores throughout Morocco, and they produce any type of fresh juice for a reasonable price.
In a Moroccan recipe, potatoes, onions, zucchini, carrots, and pumpkin are typical fresh veggies. Eggplant is a popular vegetable in Morocco, appearing in a variety of prepared vegetable salads and fried meals. Olives are commonly used in cookery in the Mediterranean nation. You can buy pounds worth of vegetables for very affordable prices!
The old Medina of many Moroccan cities provides you with top-notch plant-based products that you’ll surely be incorporating into your morning and nighttime self-care routine, making sure that Morocco as a Destination for Vegetarians and Vegans is considerate and thoughtful of its tourists needs.
Some examples include:
- Moroccan soap: All skin types respond well to Moroccan soap. It not only refreshes and moisturizes your skin, but it also treats acne, rashes, and chronic dryness.
- “Ghassoul”: It is a type of clay mask that tightens skin and reduces big pores since it is an organic powder with natural astringent characteristics.
- Henna: Henna powder is to draw temporary patterns on the skin and can also be used to give your hair gloss, thickness, and color.
- Rose water sprays: The greatest damascene flowers in the world are used to make Moroccan rose water. Rose water aids in skin moisturization, which hydrates and rejuvenates the skin. This results in a more youthful appearance.
- Kohl: Moroccan Kohl is usually applied as eyeliner. It also guarantees eye protection from sand, wind, and sun glare.
Where to eat
Vegetarian and vegan-friendly restaurants are scattered all over Morocco to keep foodies satisfied. Just remember that no matter where you travel, you will always find delicious local food to eat that will suit your demands as a Vegetarian or Vegan.
Eat as many flavorful salads and starts as you can, and we’re confident that you won’t catch the same taste, the same vegetable, or spice combinations from one area to another. So, you won’t get tired of eating the same dish everywhere.
Or, you can just ask for the vegetarian or vegan options in whichever restaurant you step foot into. They are not as expensive as they are everywhere else in the world compared to Morocco as a Destination for Vegetarians and Vegans.
Tips on Morocco as a Destination for Vegetarians and Vegans
- Harira, the Moroccan soup, includes some pieces of meat in it. Remember to ask the waiter if it has no meat.
- Always inquire if the veggies in Couscous are cooked separately. Some restaurants tend to cook the vegetables with the meat.
- Be cautious about fried foods because some restaurants use the same oil to fry meat as well in Morocco as a Destination for Vegetarians and Vegans.
- Some breads, particularly those fried in a pan, such as Msmmen, Rghayef, Betbout, or Mkhamer, may include butter and milk, so if you’re vegan, stick to circular bread baked in the oven.
- Moroccans, especially in small towns, may not understand vegetarianism. Meat, traditionally, is a synonym for wealth. It’s considered hospitable to feed you meat or chicken. Your not eating meat may not be understood at a small villages.
- Almost all Moroccan pastry is vegetarian. However, it contains butter, which makes it incompatible with vegan dietary plans.
For more information concerning Morocco as a Destination for Vegetarians and Vegans, please do not hesitate to contact us.